HindiSong.com

Movie review: Aan Men at work

aan (24K)Producer: Firoz Nadiadwala
Director: Madhur Bhandarkar
Starring: Shatrughan Sinha, Akshay Kumar, Suniel Shetty, Paresh Rawal, Raveena Tandon, Preeti Jhangiani, Lara Dutta, Jackie Shroff, and Irfan Khan
Music: Anu Malik
Lyrics: Sameer, Dev Kohli, Tejpal Kaur

Here is yet another film made on cops. Though most of the films depict the police force in a negative manner, some directors chose to portray them in good light and Madhur Bhandarkar is one such director.

Aan (meaning PRIDE in English) tries to tell you the positive side of the cops. The film portrays the cops who fight for the justice. Though the idea has nothing new, the director has presented a decent fair with an interesting narration.

D.C.P. Hari Om Patnaik [Akshay Kumar] gets transferred to Mumbai Crime Branch at a time when its morale is at its extremely low.

Patnik has to work with three different persons: Sr. Inspector Vikram Singh [Shatrughan Sinha], who has given up his hopes on the system, encounter specialist Inspector Appa Naik [Suniel Shetty], and the Constable Khalid [Paresh Rawal] who has a care free attitude.

All these officers have radually developed a sloppy attitude. But there is much workd to be done. The city is virtually ruled by three people... Manik Rao [Manoj Joshi], the Home Minister, Underworld don Yusuf Pathan [Irrfan Khan], and business tycoon Gautam Walia [Jackie Shroff] are the three who constitute a dangerous nexus that calls rules the city.

The new officer is determined to redeem the control from the evil force. First he has to confront the hurdles from within. He has to revamp the system.

The opportunity arises when Manik Rao gets businessman Ajit Pradhan [Milind Gunaji] eliminated by Yusuf Pathan's younger brother [Rahul Dev].

Pradhan's murder gives the opportunity to open up things. Hari and his men start the hunt to nab the culprits behind the murder. The rejuvenated police force under the able leadership of Hari Om Patnaik emerges triumph after a long and sustained struggle.

Though the basic premise is so simple, the film tries the patience of the audience as it takes time to take off. The director could have avoided elaborate introduction of each character. Milind Gunaji's murder saves the film from the sluggish path. The happenings during the song [featuring Reema Sen] and the subsequent shootout ensure the continuation of the pace.

The confrontation scenes in the post-interval portion add further momentum to the narration. The incident taking place outside the mosque is an example of good execution. The encounter between Akshay and Rahul Dev too has been excecuted well. The verbal duel between Om Puri and Manoj Joshi is excellent.

The dramatic moments and the action sequences clearly show that the director targets the masses. While mass appeal is a not a sin, the script could have been better. The romantic track between Akshay and Lara is totally waste. It does not have the romantic appeal either. This kind of films can do without usual romance sequences.

Music [Anu Malik] is nothing special. Cinematography [Madhu Rao] is marvelous. The action sequences [Abbas Ali Moghul] are stunning. Actually it is the stunts that carry the film through.

Akshay Kumar stands out amidst a host of stars. He is improving by each film. Suniel is quite impressive as usual. Shatrughan Sinha's return to big screen after a long time does not live up to the expectations. He does not get ample scope to justice to his stature.

The performances of Jackie and Raveena fall short of expectation. But you can't blame the stars, as their characterizations are half backed. Om Puri impresses in a small but significant role. Lara Dutta is wasted. Irrfan Khan dominates the screen whenever he appears.

Overall, Aan offers you an action packed commercial entertainment that has mass appeal.

Share: Diggdel.icio.usGoogleYahooStumbleUponMixxFacebookRedditMyspace
Songs

Actors
Akshay Kumar
Lara Dutta
Sunil Shetty

Director
Madhur Bhandarkar

Music Director
Anu Malik

Release Year
2004

Producer
Firoz A. Nadiadwala


New Reviews
Gulaal
Dhoondte Reh Jaaoge
13 B
Karma Aur Holi
Delhi 6
Billu
Luck By Chance
Dev D
Mere Khwabon Mein Jo Aaye
Karzzzz

Latest Previews
Billu
Kidnap
Mission Istanbul
Singh Is King
Rock On
Jaane Tu... Ya Jaane Na
Kismat Konnection
Sarkar Raj
Haal-e-Dil
Raat Gayi Baat Gayi

Latest Music Review
1920
Karzzzz
ADA
Love story 2050
Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic
Viewer(s) Comments
гуг
5/31/2014 7:42:08 AM
akshay is the best
amar 5/18/2012 3:09:43 AM
i like akshay kr
rahul 8/9/2010 6:48:56 AM
i like filam hindi
zubair 7/16/2010 8:47:54 PM
AaBed9158
aabed 5/17/2010 10:46:12 AM
h
munaf 2/28/2010 12:35:47 PM
sajanpicturefilm
munaf 2/28/2010 12:34:36 PM
aan is grate movie. akshya kumar & sunil settey &satrughan signha is good act.
guddu kumar bhagat 3/15/2009 2:50:22 AM
JGHGLTGJM;LGKP'OFK,'; JL.]HRP;T ]L[V]MNVHL] YF G;JH
puneet 9/25/2008 2:33:57 AM
9868213276
poonam 7/8/2008 6:01:19 AM
i love only akshay kumar ok m mad in her love m crazy i also cn die for him. i love .no one cn love more thn me ok so stop looking at ak he is for me only stupids.
ami 6/9/2008 4:28:52 AM
I love this songs
Rakehs Dongre 5/20/2008 1:06:00 PM
sunul.deol. nousavons. apriskehri.tikh. rochan. safem. estamichap. patel.sevres.ou.faux.merci.mamoute.oumar.
mamoute 5/4/2008 6:28:20 AM
hong kong
rai 2/23/2008 9:06:39 AM
the best
habib 2/20/2008 5:58:01 AM
akshay...i love you!you are perfect...and i hope be happy!! you are a man distinctive!!kissss..:)
carla 2/2/2008 3:03:57 PM
asd
arveen 1/6/2008 9:16:30 AM
sunilshetty is my favourite action hero.please work more action movies.
ali imran 11/26/2007 3:05:42 PM
i am a great fan although airconditioner of sunilshetty and akshay kumar acting.i have all films of these actors.i like action films,so i want more action films of these.i want to see them again in action movies,my aim in life to meet these actors in life.GOD BLESS U SUNIL SHETTY AND AKSHAY KUMAR.
ali imran 11/26/2007 3:02:02 PM
Akshay Is MINE!! lol hehhe mail meh on: xx-vip--sami-xx@hotmail.co.uk
SAM3RA 9/27/2007 4:54:01 AM
haiiii akki mister rajiv om bhatiya i love each and every films of urs........ iam from a small city of hyderabad i watch each and every film of urs......if iget the chance to come to mumbai i defineatly meet................i have also called u many times but nobody lifts the phone..........may god brings very happines in ur life.................god always stays with good and hardworkers.................
nitin tiwari 9/23/2007 9:51:39 AM
hi how are my friend i am from germany jangeer khan i like u r all films
jangeer khan 9/4/2007 6:13:30 PM
akshay kumar is very perfect man
tina 5/28/2007 4:13:38 AM
akshay kumar is very perfect man
tina 5/28/2007 4:11:38 AM
cos naneha salam
verg 5/16/2007 6:07:39 AM
salaaaaaam i love grils
seveyl 5/16/2007 6:04:19 AM
i think this year film fair aword,best actor,best comadian meet his
akshay 2/19/2007 11:02:25 AM
akshay is not aonly action hero he is a all time favorite hero he is a great1i am his fan.and i am an small actor my real life.i want become a akshay.
akshay 2/19/2007 10:58:05 AM
He is good but not too much.
khizer 2/7/2007 1:23:29 PM
hay how are you
nikkie 1/15/2007 1:13:56 PM
i seyed i like akshys fime he is a good actor
seyed 1/8/2007 1:44:54 PM
akki i like you and you are the best actor for all time yesssssssssssss
dauda 10/22/2006 9:38:17 AM
dialoge of akshey kumar is very famous in my dictionary
ubaid qureshi 10/10/2006 7:17:27 AM
akshey is my biggest and largest fan in the indian film industry i like that acting very much
ubaid qureshi 10/10/2006 7:16:20 AM
you are a very great actor
deepak 10/9/2006 2:27:20 AM
i like this side what to member
shadoo 8/5/2006 10:40:07 AM
i like indian movies
kiran 7/22/2006 2:36:34 PM
AKKI, I LOVE U, I WISH I WANT TO MEET U, BCOZ I LIKE U R SMILE, FACE UR STANT SEENS, U LIKE KARATE I LIKE THATS Y I LIKE U VERY MUCH
chhaya 6/19/2006 11:42:36 AM
hi my name is maxamed and e-mail address is maxamedyare252@hotmail.com
maxamedy 6/10/2006 1:41:52 PM
050201578
Chirag 4/26/2006 5:43:17 AM
lxxolxsi
Chirag 4/26/2006 5:42:34 AM
i love suniel shetty!!!!i love him very much!!!suniel u r da bestttt!!!u r such a great actor, very talented and have ur own charisma...
sofie 4/20/2006 2:53:13 AM
SUNIEL SHETTY ROCK MAN!!!SOOOO MACHO N HANDSOME!!!HE IS MY DREAM LOVER!!!SUNIEL SHETTY DA BESSSTTT N HE IS MY IDOL =)
sofie 4/20/2006 2:30:08 AM
AAN:MAN AT WORK IS A VERY GOOD MOVIE ABOUT POLICE
RAVI 4/19/2006 2:06:04 AM
akshey kumar
akshe kumar 4/7/2006 12:53:28 PM
AKHSAY IS THE GREAT HERO
AMARNATH 4/6/2006 7:35:44 AM
kos nanat
Aabed 3/31/2006 2:35:18 PM
sallam kobasten omeduar astam k d sallamt basn kodahafz soma Aabed
Aabed 3/31/2006 2:34:54 PM
sallam afghne sallam hotor asten omeduarastam k haltan kob basa kodahafz aabed afghnistan@oatmaela.com
Aabed 3/31/2006 2:33:10 PM
sallam afghne
Aabed 3/31/2006 2:30:53 PM
all your films akshay is great
abir 3/10/2006 9:50:14 AM
im from iran i adore mr akshy kumar his act,his dances r great and exciting i hope one day,icould visit u ur the best.bye
farzane 3/9/2006 7:35:36 AM
akshy ur the bestttttt
farzane 3/9/2006 7:33:10 AM
hi i love akshy kumarvery much
farzane 3/9/2006 7:24:14 AM
bahibak bahibak bahibak i love you je t'aime cheri your phone is not ....wher this is my phone habibi 0021351836786 habibi bahibak mooooot
mimi 3/5/2006 6:40:41 AM
hiiiiiiiiiii my one love in my life i love you akchay bahibakkkk bahibakkkkkk you are my dreeeeeeemmmm yes i swear bahibak we amooootttt am from algeria 22 years ....bahibak bahibak where are you habibi .........bahibakkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
mimi 3/5/2006 6:37:24 AM
akshey kumar is my biggest fan . i love u akki more then every think else and u r the best ilove uuuuuuuu . i am from somalia take care baby
deeqa 2/20/2006 8:36:10 AM
iueji
oweeen 2/17/2006 2:51:19 PM
akki u r real hero
vishal 1/18/2006 12:51:07 AM
im a great fans of suniel shetty!!! im really love him..he was sooo great on ann, i watch it so many time but imreally sad because he died..amazing acting by him..other suniel's fans can mail me at sunilmylove_84..we can say many things about him..suniel u r da besssttt!!!!
sofie 1/17/2006 5:32:08 AM
hey my name is issa im from dubai i m a great fan of suniel shetty i haved watched all of his movies from balwaan to deewana huye pagaal,u guys no suniel shetty got garments shop in dubai next to islamic bank in bur dubai im crazy fan of him if anyone of u know the email address of him plz send me in aowas@hotmail.com its favour im asking from u guys plz plz plz i love suniel shetty east o west suniel shetty is the best suniel u r da best (tum mujhe bool jawo ea ho nay nahi donga)may tumay bool jawo ea ho nahi sakta.
issa 1/14/2006 7:53:45 AM
hey akshey the good all the moieve good film this garam masaala
labiiza 12/17/2005 5:22:02 PM
fack of
bilal 11/25/2005 1:02:28 PM
I like Aksay. you are the best man. Your all the movies are great. I am in america but i am your great friend.
khushbu 11/18/2005 5:05:08 PM
i see all of her film . i love her very much . i am crazy for her . only i want to see her and i want to sey to her that i love u very much akshy
shirin 11/18/2005 7:12:31 AM
he ia an dashing persnality
rabbia 11/17/2005 2:23:12 AM
i love akshay's loving style.i am totally crazy about him.and i wanna kiss him once
mahek 11/4/2005 6:28:37 AM
la mejor pelicula
laly 10/20/2005 3:34:37 PM
akshy is the best hero in bollywood just cose of akshy move is the best
raj panchal 9/26/2005 9:11:56 PM
WHAT IS THIS
SAQIB NAWAZ 9/24/2005 7:09:01 AM
song
shahil 9/11/2005 6:06:53 AM
i love sunil shetty and i like rani mukerji and i love amar singh dhillion so much .
KEVEL 5/23/2005 3:28:42 AM
i love sunil shetty
KEVEL 5/23/2005 3:25:59 AM
Akshya Kumar is one of my favourite actor,so i like this flim very much.
MOURYA 5/2/2005 11:21:12 PM
I have to give credit to akshay Kumar. He really did a great job on his role for this movie. Rock'on Akhsay Kumar!!!!!!!!!
ithnaaa 2/8/2005 5:15:01 PM
ilike songs of kumar sanu how can be gotten and sunil shetty picture
salman 1/19/2005 2:30:02 AM
hi lara i love you
Abdul Rahim 1/18/2005 5:53:07 AM
hiiiiiiiiiiiiii
bassanio 12/7/2004 10:44:35 AM
Akshey, Your acting movements seems you are the best of all. Your my favourite Hindi actor in the Bollywood.
muamar 12/3/2004 8:46:04 AM
also i want their emails to communicate with them thanks for help
ameerah 11/27/2004 4:45:51 AM
i love akshey kummer,saif ali khanso much
ameerah 11/27/2004 4:43:36 AM
the song of this movies were heart touching
dilhaipagal 11/4/2004 1:53:45 PM
,,,,,,HELLO,,,,,..,,,,, i like Lara Dutta and i like ur Movies; and i really Love You Lara Dutta and i want to Kiss u ba bye take care
Zeeshan ahmad 10/12/2004 7:06:13 AM
you have such a long list of nice songs which i cannot imagine. congratulation
terry 10/9/2004 2:53:35 PM
first i have greated you after that i am telling you that you are agood acter who cant be geten and i am saying to you good by and chario.
kaafi 10/1/2004 10:36:58 AM
like akshy kumar and want to have contact with all
ahmad 9/29/2004 10:06:48 AM
I Like Akshy kumar want to have contact with him
ahmad 9/29/2004 10:05:31 AM
to talk with all indain movie stars
ahmad 9/29/2004 10:03:52 AM
this movie was great and akshay ur tha best actor i eva show.. sunil ok
rahul 9/11/2004 10:59:43 PM
hi
anita 9/4/2004 1:27:20 PM
Akshay was very good i this film i like akshay kumar. lara dutta was also very nice and beautiful in the movie!
Naina 8/31/2004 1:55:04 PM
I wont play list
suman 8/31/2004 5:52:14 AM
this film was very good.i really liked the role of akshay and sunil.i think more films like this should be made where they show that the police is not irresponsible and carefree.
mona 8/12/2004 8:11:19 PM
qwqwqdqwdqw
c/qani 8/10/2004 1:32:19 PM
ilike akshey kumar and sunil shetty
c/qani 8/10/2004 1:30:50 PM
my name is mohdkhaleel i love shahrukh khan akshaykumar sunilshetty i love ann flim i love lara dutta garv also good i love salman khan ok
sallu 8/1/2004 4:30:46 PM
hello my best star in my life.
muhammad 7/29/2004 2:22:12 PM
this is a gr8 movie,, action is well done, it should not have any song in it,, it blew the the good quality of the movie, without these song in the movie, it's would have been a great police story film, leave song and dance for family movies guy, ((((if you want to be like the west Do like the westend world,))) thxxxx
jade 7/26/2004 4:25:31 PM
I LOVE sunil shetty and Akshy kumar they are the best
Tarina 7/25/2004 9:10:28 AM
I think that Akshy kumar and sunil shetty is the best actor guys if u have they are E-mail plzzzzzzzzzz send me in my e-mail E-mail: hum_love_tum_2004@hotmail.com
Tarina 7/25/2004 9:07:16 AM
hello dear i want to like friendship with prety girls plz add me in ur massenger ok bye. tahirali83@hotmail.com
tahir 7/24/2004 10:20:11 AM
i like sunil shetty
almas 7/21/2004 12:42:56 PM
hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii iam heba in cairo ilove youuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu plz plz nany_am1100@hotmail.com
heba 7/20/2004 1:52:16 PM
iam one of supporters of akshay kumar because the best actor ilike his films is akshay for my ever i never interest onether actor except akshay hi~! akshy i have greeted you iam your friend byeeeeeeee
farah oday 7/20/2004 4:10:37 AM
i like this movie coz i love AKSHEY KUMAR & LARA DUTTA
shumaila mehwish 7/15/2004 4:41:30 PM
it kicked ass because of suniel shetty
manjeeki 7/15/2004 11:12:51 AM
HELLO FOR ALL OF YOU
Samim 7/14/2004 5:33:23 AM
I AM FROM AFGHNISTAN,I LIKE THIS MOVIE
AHMAD ZIA 7/14/2004 1:17:21 AM
Amazing acting by suneil shetty! He is a hell of an actor!
PT 7/13/2004 6:13:35 PM
I LOVE LARA DUTTA
surendra 7/13/2004 12:30:54 PM
hii to all friends
doctor 7/13/2004 2:16:36 AM
it was good, but would be better if sunil hadn't died
manjeeki 7/12/2004 4:40:43 PM
I LOVE LARA DATTA
shahzad] 7/11/2004 6:37:32 AM
i like the movie ....akshay kumar is best in the film ..i like him
amar 7/10/2004 5:31:17 PM
i am love diss tigs
juan carlos bharratt 7/9/2004 7:25:35 PM
I just watched it and it is okay,but I didn't like it when Sunnil Shetty died.I am in Liberia,West Africa.
gracella 7/5/2004 9:30:46 AM
Dear, I read this site is very enjoyful to me. I like Mr. Akshy Kumar acting in movies. I like to have Email ID Sunny Deol, Akshy Kumar, Sardevy, Hemamelani. Thanks for helping, i am waiting for the positive response Rafiullah Kandahar
Rafiullah Hamidi 7/5/2004 7:17:39 AM
huio3u
nikhilesh 7/5/2004 6:58:24 AM
nothing
raja 7/4/2004 8:07:53 AM
A boring movie... I wodn't like to see it again...Thanx for me.. ;O)
Priv 7/2/2004 10:50:48 AM
Hey this is tareq. I like hindi song, rabba rabba my favorit song.
tareq 7/2/2004 3:51:51 AM
aan is grate movie. akshya kumar & sunil settey is good act.
jayendra 7/2/2004 3:25:21 AM
hey good , nice and so boaring yar story hai . agar time waist karna hai to, yar isay nahi dekhna, plz, run ko dekh lana
salman 7/1/2004 4:20:31 PM
ert hrtyhrusyux xdhrtu ir zyc shjtru bzdydsyt
omgd 7/1/2004 8:41:37 AM
akshay was great and lutta ididn't see you much at this movie.
Samten 6/30/2004 3:05:44 PM
preident ze zoon van amirikaa
nafes 6/30/2004 12:31:12 PM
very good relaxing programme, l like very much and send more good photos and good music also thanks.
sajin 6/29/2004 8:09:27 PM
jvjl
ulhas 5/25/2004 3:19:14 AM
AAN: MEN AT WORK
Rating
All time GREATFirst-ClassDecentNot badHorrible
Your Comments
Your Name:  
Your Email:  
Your Comment: